Located in the Old City of Nicosia. Believed that once was the church of St. Mary Augustine. This place is a building.
Near the Archdiocese and other churches that are enclosed in Venetian walls of the capital, rises the Mosque Omeriye Emerkes or as better known to residents in Nicosia. First De Latri We identified the Omeriye mosque in the southern part of Nicosia between the old ramparts and Costanza Podocataro, the church of St. Mary, the monastery of the Augustinians. Based on two headstones with names of monks of the Order of the Augustinians. The gravestones are located on the floor of the mosque until 1940.
The architecture of the building is generally very simple, with heavy external-sides . It boasts the arched entrance on the west wall, which bears remarkable sculptures.
The church was originally to be about 15 meters high and was one of the most imposing buildings in Nicosia. The upper part, by the middle of the window was destroyed, probably by the cannon of the Turks during the siege of Nicosia in 1570. Later, the Turks filled the walls and covered the building and the hall with a wooden roof. The interior of the church was covered with plaster, while outside the minaret was added on the north side.
Named Omeriye mosque by the Turks after the fall of Nicosia in honour of the Prophet Omar, which at the Turkish tradition, visited Nicosia en route to Egypt and spent the night in the vestibule of the ruined church. The Turkish commander Mustafa identified the Church with the Augustinian tradition, which is properly modified to operate as a mosque.
Today, the Mosque of Emerkes is a medieval monument visiting locals and foreigners, as used by Muslims living in Nicosia in Cyprus and generally for prayer, and is a source for exploring the history of medieval religious orders in Europe and medieval architecture.